***CANCELLED*** Refresher - Nonviolent Crisis Prevention Training

< Back

Registration Closed.
Agency: CESA 10
Agency Contact: Lorna Margenau
Agency Assistant: Shari Owen 715-720-2060
Location: CESA 10
725 West Park Avenue
Chippewa Falls, WI 54729
Facility: Conference Center (Rooms 1-2-3)
6/13/2019 08:30 AM - 03:30 PM

Refresher - Nonviolent Crisis Prevention Training

June 13, 2019

8:30 am - 3:30 pm

CESA 10 Conference Center

Summary: This refresher course is for people who have been previously (within the last three years) certified by the Crisis Prevention Institute. The course reviews nonverbal, verbal, and physical techniques to use safely in a crisis situation and offers recertification for one year.

Objectives for all participants:

  • Learn to recognize signs of anxiety and pending disruption.
  • Learn nonverbal and verbal de-escalation techniques.
  • Develop knowledge and confidence in dealing with disruptive individuals.
  • Learn personal safety tips/techniques in dealing with physically aggressive students.
  • Learn techniques in nonviolent physical crisis intervention using a team approach.
  • Gain recertification in nonviolent techniques to increase confidence level and expertise in dealing with crisis situations.

Instructors:      Lorna Margenau, CESA 10;  Tonia Anderson Ruskin, CESA 10; and Dennis Gunnink, CESA 10

Cost:  No charge to CESA 10 Special Education Pupil Services Professional Development member school districts*; $100.00 to non-member districts.

Target Audience:  School Safety Teams, Special and General Education Teachers, Counselors, School Psychologists, Principals, Paraprofessionals

Registration:  You can also register via MyQuickReg (Initial Training:; Refresher Training: You can also register by contacting Shari Owen at


Special Education Pupil Services Professional Development Member Districts*

  • Bloomer
  • Bruce
  • Cadott
  • Eleva-Strum
  • Flambeau
  • Gilman
  • Gilmanton 
  • Granton
  • Greenwood
  • Ladysmith
  • Lake Holcombe
  • Loyal                 
  • Neillsville
  • New Auburn
  • Osseo-Fairchild
  • Owen-Withee
  • Thorp